Parliament security breach: Delhi LG sanctions prosecution of six accused

Delhi Lt Governor VK Saxena on Thursday accorded sanction to prosecute six persons under the stringent Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act for their alleged involvement in the Parliament security breach incident.

The information was shared by officials of Raj Niwas. They said that Delhi Police had sought prosecution of the accused under Sections 16 and 18 of the UAPA from the LG

After finding sufficient material on record, LG Saxena granted prosecution sanction, they added.

The officials further said that while the Delhi Police had requested for necessary prosecution sanction under UAPA, the Review Committee on May 30 this year had also gone through the entire evidence collected by the investigating agency and found the involvement of the accused in the case.

The Review Committee noted that prima facie a case was made out against the accused under UAPA, they added.

On December 13, 2023, two persons had jumped into the Lok Sabha chamber from the public gallery and opened canisters that emitted a yellow-coloured smoke, triggering panic among the MPs. The incident took place on the anniversary of the 2001 Parliament attack.

The accused were identified as Manoranjan D, Sagar Sharma, Amol Dhanraj Shinde, Neelam Ranolia, Lalit Jha and Mahesh Kumawat.