Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Above: The Chief Election Commissioner, Dr Nasim Zaidi along with the Election Commissioners, AK Joti and OP Rawat addressing the press conference to announce the schedule for Vice Presidential Elections, 2017, in New Delhi on June 29, 2017. Photo: PIB

The term of the incumbent Vice-President of India, Hamid Ansari, expires on August 10. Fresh election to this post will be held on August 5, with the results being declared the same day. The Vice-President is elected by the members of both the houses of Parliament.

Chief Election Commissioner Dr Nasim Zaidi announced this schedule at a press conference on June 29. The notification for the election will be issued on July 4 and the last date for submission of nominations will be July 18. The nominations will be scrutinized on July 19 and the candidates can withdraw nominations by July 21.  If there is a contest, and election is required, it will be held on August 5, between 10am to 5pm.

The returning officer for the election will be the Secretary General of Rajya Sabha, Shumsher K Sheriff.

The NDA’s possible candidate – which is the RSS’ choice – is interesting. It is SC Jamir, a veteran Congress leader from Nagaland, as per media reports. He is currently the governor of Odisha. He was also the chief minister of Nagaland as well as governor of Goa, Maharashtra and Gujarat.

Many things are in his favour. He has a North East background, has a minority and tribal status and being a Congressman, will be acceptable to the Congress.

Other possible names which doing the rounds — Draupadi Murmu, the governor of Jharkhand and the speculated Presidential candidate for BJP, former Union Minister VK Deo and Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao, the governor of Maharashtra.

—India Legal Bureau

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.