SC: Ex UP Chief Ministers can’t stay in official bungalows

The apex court on Monday (May 7) struck down the law passed by Uttar Pradesh government providing permanent residences to former Chief Ministers of the state. “Former chief ministers of the state are not entitled to government bungalows,” the court said, adding “once a person demits public office, there is nothing to distinguish them from common man”. The court was acting on the plea filed by NGO Lok Prahari seeking annulment of Section 4 of the Uttar Pradesh Ministers (Salaries, Allowances and Miscellaneous Provisions) (Amendment Act), 2016. The judgement of the apex court will affect five ex-chief ministers of UP — Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, Rajnath Singh, Rajasthan Governor Kalyan Singh and N D Tiwari who will lose their government bungalows. Read the full judgement here 

—India Legal Bureau