VVPATs will be used for elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland

The election dates for the three North-Eastern states — Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland were announced by the Chief Election Commissioner A K Joti on Thursday (January 18). The elections to the 3 states will be held in two rounds. In the first round, Tripura will go to polls on February 18, 2018 while elections for the legislatures of Meghalaya and Nagaland will be held on February 27, 2018, Joti announced. The results for all the three states will be announced on March 3, 2018. Joti also announced that Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) will be used for the first time in these three states and in all polling booths.

—India Legal Bureau