Thursday, December 1, 2022

Calcutta HC: Supreme Court Collegium recommends 2 advocates, 4 judicial officers for elevation as judges

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Supreme Court Collegium in its meeting held on September 1, 2021 has approved the proposal for elevation of 2 advocates, Krishna Rao and Koyeli Bhattacharyya, as judges of the Calcutta High Court. Judicial officers Shampa Dutt, Bibhas Ranjan De, Siddhartha Roy Chowdhury and Ajoy Kmar Mukherjee have also been proposed as judges in the Calcutta High Court.  

The Collegium in the same meeting has resolved to reiterate its earlier recommendations for elevation of 4 advocates (Jaytosh Majumdar, Amitesh Banerjee, Raja Basu Chowdhury, Lapita Banerji) as judges in Calcutta High Court.

As per Ministry’s notification dated September 3, Additional Judge Justice Kaushik Chanda has been appointed as a Permanent Judge of the Calcutta High Court.

The Calcutta High Court has a sanctioned strength of 72 Judges (54 Permanent Judges and 18 Additional Judges) including its permanent Circuit Benches in Port Blair, the capital of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and in Jalpaiguri, the headquarters of the Jalpaiguri division of West Bengal.

Also Read: Supreme Court Collegium recommends 68 names for appointment as judges in 12 High Courts

According to the list of Judges by the Department of Justice, Ministry, as on September 1, 2021, there are currently 29 sitting judges (permanent) and 7 additional judges at Calcutta High Court.

After the approval of recommended Strength, the Calcutta High Court will have 40 sitting Judges and 6 additional Judges.



Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

News Update