Wednesday, April 24, 2024

President appoints former SC judge Justice AM Khanwilkar as Lokpal

The Central government has appointed Supreme Court judge Justice AM Khanwilkar as the new Lokpal Chairperson.

The information was shared on the official website of the President of India on Tuesday by way of a press note, which said that President Droupadi Murmu appointed Justice Khanwilkar as the new Lokpal.

It further said that three judges have been appointed as judicial members of the Lokpal. These are Justice Lingappa Narayana Swamy, Justice Sanjay Yadav and Justice Ritu Raj Awasthi. Besides, other three persons have also been appointed as members of the anti-corruption body. These are Sushil Chandra, Pankaj Kumar and
Ajay Tirkey.

The statement said the decision to appoint Justice Khanwilkar as the new Lokpal of India was made following a meeting by a high-level committee consisting Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud and Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury.

The Lokpal was established under the Lokpal and the Lokayuktas Act 2013. The Lokpal is tasked with inquiring and investigating allegations of corruption against public functionaries falling within the scope and ambit of the Lokpal Act.

Former Chief Justice of the Jharkhand High Court, Justice Pradip Kumar Mohanty is currently serving as the acting chairperson of the Lokpal.


News Update