Thursday, October 6, 2022

Supreme Court refuses interim stay on suspension of 12 Maharashtra BJP MLAs

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Supreme Court refuses to grant interim stay to 12 Maharashtra BJP MLAs who were suspended from Maharashtra Legislative Assembly for a period of one year. The 12 BJP MLAs are accused of allegedly misbehaving with the presiding officer Bhaskar Jadhav in the Speaker’s chamber by the state government. The State Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anil Parab moved the petition in Supreme Court to suspend the BJP MLAs.

The 12 MLAs moved to the Apex Court challenging the decision of their suspension from the state legislative assembly are Ashish Shelar, Narayan kuche ,Atul Bhatkhalkar, Harish Pimpale, Sanjay Kute, Jay Kumar Rawat, Bunty Bhangdia, Girish Mahajan, Abhimanyu Pawar Yogesh Sagar, Ram Satpute and Parag Alavani.

In July, 12 BJP MLAs were suspended for a year while taking action against them for abusing the speaker in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. BJP MLAs filed a petition in the Supreme Court against the decision of suspension by the speaker, saying that the action of their suspension is malicious.

Since the 12 BJP MLAs did not get any relief from the Supreme Court, now the MLAs will not be able to participate in the current session of the house proceedings. However, the court has issued a notice to the Assembly Secretary asking him to present his side.

The former Chief Minister said that Ashish Shelar one of the 12 BJP MLAs who is suspended had apologized for the said misbehavior and the matter ended there, and it was a “one-sided” account on what Jadhav said, the former CM claimed further.

The 12 suspended legislators will not be allowed in the Legislature premises in Mumbai and as well as in Nagpur during the period of their suspension, the State Parliamentary Affairs Minister Parab said.

While Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, Devendra Fadnavis, expressed his strong objection to the decision and said that the House Proceedings will be boycotted by the opposition.

Also Read: Chardham project road widening: Supreme Court upholds govt plan

Fadnavis said that because the opposition has exposed two-facedness of the government on the OBC quota in local bodies, the 12 BJP MLAs are falsely being alleged for misbehaving with Jadhav and it is a mere attempt to reduce opposition benches by few numbers.

Fadnavis further added that it was the Shiv Sena MLAs who used abusive words and foul language for the presiding officer and not the BJP members instead he was the one who brought BJP MLAs out of the Speaker’s chamber.

The BJP members were accused of misbehaving with Bhaskar Jadhav on a previous occasion as well by the leader and minister of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Nawab Malik and the state Assembly was adjourned four times over this issue.

Also Read:

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

News Update