Saturday, May 18, 2024

Yasin Malik pleads guilty to all charges against him for terrorism activities

The quantum of sentence against the Separatist leader Mohammad Yasin Malik was heard by a Delhi Court where the leader has pleaded guilty to all the charges before the court in connection of a case of alleged terrorism and secessionist activity in the year 2017.

A chargesheet was filed against the Separatist leader Mohammad Yasin Malik, along with some  other  Kashmiri Separatist leaders such as Farooq Ahmed Dar alias Bitta Karate, Shabbir Shah, Masarat Alam, Md Yusuf Shah, Aftab Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Khan, Md Akbar Khanday, Raja Mehrajuddin Kalwal, Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Zahoor Ahmad Shah Watali, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Abdul Rashid Sheikh and Naval Kishore Kapoor.

Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) Founder Hafiz Saeed and Hizbul Mujahideen Chief Syed Salahuddin have also been declared as a proclaimed offenders(PO) in this case .

In the month of March this year Court had ordered to charge Malik and others under the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA)

Malik and all his set of Separatist leaders were registered under Sections 16 (terrorist act), Section 17 (raising funds for the terrorist act), Section 18 (conspiracy to commit terrorist act), and Section 20 (being member of terrorist gang or organization.

 They were also registered under sections 120-B (criminal conspiracy) and 124-A (sedition) of Indian Penal Code.

Yasin Malik  has submitted before the court that he would not contest any charge that has been framed on him under any section.

The Court with the Special Judge Praveen Singh decided to adjourn matter for May 19 after hearing the submissions made by Malik. The Court will decide on May 19, the quantum of sentence for Malik. 


News Update