Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Centre notifies transfer of five High Court judges

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Central government has approved the transfer of five High Court judges, which was earlier recommended by the Supreme Court Collegium.

A notification was issued in this regard by the Ministry of Law and Justice on Monday. Union Minister of State (in-charge) for Law and Justice Arjun Ram Meghwal also confirmed the news on his X (formerly Twitter) handle.

As per the notification, Justice Vivek Kumar Singh has been transferred from the Allahabad High Court to the Madras High Court, while Justice Shekhar B Saraf would now serve as judge at the Allahabad High Court from the Calcutta High Court

Justice Bibek Chaudhuri, currently serving at the Calcutta High Court, would now be a part of the Patna High Court as judge.

Justice M. Sudheer Kumar has been relocated from the Telangana High Court to the Madras High Court, while Justice C. Sumalatha would now serve at the Karnataka High Court. She is currently serving at the Telangana High Court.

On August 3, the Supreme Court Collegium led by Chief Justice of India D.Y. Chandrachud and comprising Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Justice Sanjiv Khanna, Justice B.R. Gavai and Justice Surya Kant, had recommended Justice Singh’s transfer.

On August 10, it proposed the transfer of Justice Saraf, Justice Chaudhuri, Justice Kumar and Justice Sumalatha.

As per the Supreme Court Collegium resolution, the transfers would ensure a balanced and efficient judicial system, leveraging the expertise and experience of judges across different regions.

It said the changes underscored the commitment of the judiciary to adapt and optimise its composition for the effective administration of justice in the country.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

News Update