Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Jharkhand Election Results 2019: JMM-Congress likely to beat BJP, Hemant Soren expected to be chief minister

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-Congress-Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) alliance is leading in 42 seats and is likely to form the government, as per the latest trends.

The BJP, the single largest party so far, is leading in 29 seats.

Hemant Soren, chief ministerial face of Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is leading in Barhait with 8, 616 votes.BJP’s Simon Malto trails behind him.

Soren is also leading with 3,188 votes in Dumka constituency.

The incumbent chief minister Raghubar Das, who is seeking a sixth chief ministerial term, is trailing in Jamshedpur East with a margin of 771 votes against his former party colleague and rebel Saryu Rai, who contested the election independently.

“These trends are not the final word. There are more rounds of counting to be held. It will not be correct to comment on these trends. I will hold a press conference later in Ranchi,” Das said as he dismissed the early trends.

Raghubar Das became the chief minister of Jharkhand after the BJP won 37 seats in the 2014 elections, forming a coalition with the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) Jharkhand Vikas Morcha and All Jharkhand Students’ Union.

However, the AJSU broke ties with the BJP and is contesting the elections alone this time, after the latter refused to agree to AJSU’S demand for 17 of the 81 seats.

After winning the Jamshedpur west seat in the 2014 assembly poll, Saryu Rai hoped to become the chief minister however, the BJP decided to go ahead with a non-tribal CM for the first time in Jharkhand.


News Update