Monday, April 22, 2024

Supreme Court Collegium recommends elevation of three High Court judges as Chief Justices; transfer of 1 Chief Justice, 3 judges to 4 High Courts

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended the Central government to elevate three High Court judges as Chief Justices and transfer one Chief Justice and three judges to four High Courts in the country.

The Collegium took the decisions during its meeting on September 28, 2022, held under the chairmanship of Chief Justice of India U.U. Lalit. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul were the other members of the Collegium.

As per the recommendation, Justice S. Muralidhar, currently serving as the 32nd Chief Justice of Orissa High Court, was recommended for transfer to the Madras High Court in the same capacity.

Bombay High Court Judge, Justice Prasanna B. Varale, was recommended for elevation as Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court.

Two judges were recommended for elevation to take charge as Chief Justice of the same High Courts.

These include Orissa High Court Judge Justice Jaswant Singh and Justice Ali Mohammad Magrey of the Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh High Court.

Besides, the Collegium recommended transfer of three judges to different High Courts, other than they were currently serving at.

Justice Sanjaya Kumar Mishra from the Uttarakhand High Court was recommended for transfer to the Jharkhand High Court, while Justice K. Vinod Chandran was chosen to be transferred from the Kerala High Court to the Bombay High Court.

The Collegium also recommended transfer of Justice Aparesh Kumar Singh from the Jharkhand High Court to the Tripura High Court and Justice Pankaj Mittal from the Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh High Court to the Rajasthan High Court.





News Update